See on Scoop.itVisual*~*Revolution

Armin Mersmann was born in Remscheid, Germany in 1955. In1962, along with his parents he immigrated to the United States. Mersmann grew up in an artistic environment and was greatly influenced and tutored by his father, Fritz, a successful oil painter.

Artist Statement:

My work has become increasingly narrative. Symbolism, both collective and personal, is prevalent in my work as it deals with the evidence of humankind’s existence through artifacts. I am reacting to man’s preoccupation with cheating death and his creating representative objects, tokens and icons in an attempt to achieve this immortality. I am intrigued, amazed and frightened at the process of nature’s power to reclaim, and am dealing with my own mortality.

 

See on www.arminmersmann.com

